Sony DRU 500A 1.0f firmware

Hi everyone!

On lots of places I have read that the firmware upgrade to 1.0d causes big problems.

Now that 1.0f (I know f!) is out I wonder if there is anyone who has tried this upgrade and if it solves any problems introduced in 1.0d.

Hope to hear from someone. Until then I hold of flashing to anything.

Thanks in advance....

Raymond

E

elpresidente

lol.... If I´m the owner of this drive I wouldn´t
flash .. lol ...

Raymond,I'm new to dvd-burning,and @ my favorite store,there's not much choice between lots of dvd-r brands to test the drive's media compability after every new firmware upgrade......so I can't help on the dvd part....

BUT,
I have some protected audiocd's for testing purposes,and it's my [subjective] opinion that Sony is playing dirty tricks on us...:mad:

Reason:
With firmware 1.0c installed,the drive was able to rip CactusDataShield 200 and Key2Audio...
This was posted by me @ several cdrsites.....
Firmware 1.0d was very quickly released after that.....Key2Audio ripping abilities were gone and CDS 200 ripping was crippled......
People were complaining about the drive after the upgrade to 1.0d ,so Sony posted a message about an upcoming firmware version 1.0e,release planned @ +/- 9 december = 3 weeks after the 1.0d release.....
That new version was supposed to integrate 4X dvd-r burning speed.........BUT,it also enabled CDS200 ripping again!!
Hardly 1 day later,they released 1.0f,they didn't need 3 weeks anymore to develop that new version :confused:.......now comes the bad part:
when putting a protected audiocd in the drive(firmware 1.0f installed),the drive TOTALLY locks up, ctrl-alt-del doesn't work(XP),reset doesn't work,and a cold reboot doesn't work!When booting after 1 of these actions,my bios makes the same sound as when a memory stick is broken,I can't even acces my harddrives,my system freezes before I get the chance to get into the bios...
:(