Recommened MPEG2 encoder & Mastering Software

Hey guys, just curious what you guys think is the best software for each of these 2 DVD creation related categories:

1)
MPEG2 Encoder

2)
DVD Mastering (Creation) Software

I am new to DVD authoring and want to start off with what most people consider to be the best software.

For MPEG 2 encoding in particular, I used Xing's software and TMPenc but I am looking for something better, preferably something than can allow me to choose variable bitrates and encode from not just avi's, but MPG1 and other popular video formats. I was frustrated that both programs couldn't even re-encode the ATI Captured MPEG2 files. (Honestech encoder only works with AVI's as well).

Lastly, does anyone know how I can encode a MPEG2 file that would include 2 audio tracks:

a) a analog audio stereo track (Standard 16-bit 44khz quality)
b) a dolby digital 2.0 track

I would want to have both sound tracks in a DVD for when I convert home video's or t.v. programs since some people only hook up their video player with an digital cable (Thus they can only get digital audio playback) or some people only hook up there player using an RCA audio (red white) connection so they can only get audio playback. I'd like to accomdate both setups.

My Radeon 8500 DV supports capturing audio at a 48khz quality so I just need the software to do the above audio encoding as well.

Hi

I use Tmpgenc2.55Plus or ReMPG to encode. Most of my encoding is reducing the bitrate (DVD -> 4.4Gb DVD-R). I do some AVI to MPEG2, (I have a Radion 64DDR VIVO) but for analogue in I use a Navis MPEG capture Card.

I used to use DVDit!PE2.5 but found this was very fussy. Spruceup is much better, but can only generate 4:3 output, so ypu have to use IFOEdit on the generated .IFO files to change the aspect ration when you want 16:9.