Not trying to start a huge debate here but....

An aquaintance starting bad-mouthing my P4 last night when I spoke to him online. He said:
"man my athalon can do just as many calculation per sec as your p4 at half the mhz".

I don't engage in "my puter is better than your puter" fights. But is his statement true? I mean, I'm no expert on this matter, but it just seems to be a gross exaggeration.

Ha! scarecrow (almost called you by another well known name), how i wish you were on msn messenger right now to calm this fella down. I don't have enough technical knoweledge else I would.

got a m8 .. gotta have faster PC than anyone .. and he upgrades every 2 -3 months ..faster this and that .. motherboard ..CPU ..ram ..video card .. he can't help himself ..he just gotta be faster than everyone else ..hehe he neva has to say is betta ..as we all know he got better ...

Hi Wedge, you might be better off ignoring idiots who have nothing better to do than brag about how much better their computer is to everybody elses.

You should only use benchmarks as a guide as they can be tweeked (as Nvidia recently demonstrated with 3Dmark 2003).

The only real way to be certain is to line one up next to the other and see for yourself. I do heaps of encoding on both a P4 2.4gig and an Athlon 2gig. Encoding relies mainly on the CPU itself. If P4 ratings and AMD ratings were the same then I could expect the Athlon to be approx 83% of the speed of the P4 (2/2.4). This is not the case at all - it's only about 60-70% of the speed. The AMD is on an ASUS board and the P4 is on an MSI (not that they have much to do with encoding). No doubt the AMD will be better than the P4 in other areas!

At the end of the day it makes very little difference what processor you buy. Both my computers are fast and reliable. My advice would be to ignore what everybody else is saying and be happy with what you have got - whether it be a P4 or an AMD. If it runs fast enough for you then it's a good processor. :D