linux (redhat) stupid question..

hi,

I am new to linux and yesterday I installed redhat 8.0 and choose the personal desktop package (with addition the development tools : gcc C compilers)

my purpose to install linux is to use it for shell scripting & C programming ONLY....BUT somehow I cant execute the file I ve made...

so if I create either shell script or C program and then compiles it, it compiled properly, I can see the executables in my directory, but when I run it...by typing <executablename> <arguments> (for example), it give me error...bash: no such command (something like that, I cant remember) --> this happen for both shell or C program...

anyone know what is the solution for this? do I need to actually install full packages of redhat?

is mandrake 9.0 has such a problem? how issit compare to redhat 8.0? is the installations as easy as redhat?

thanks in advance for any help or advice,

Ferdinand

yes.. this its one of the first things that a newcomer to linux notice..

different to DOS..

Linux and Unix only execute programs that are on the search path, i mean..

on DOS
if you cd to \programs and you have an executable there, you just type the name of the executable and it works, why ? because DOS look for the executable first on the directory where you are located, if it cant find it there, then it search every directory of the PATH variable.

In Unix/Linux, when you invoke a program and you dont specify the excecutable path, it search only on the directories that the PATH environment variable has.

so..

first you have to remember that every directory has 2 special directory files.. those are the:

. (dot)
and
.. (dot dot)

-----------
Note: Confirm this!! do a "dir" on DOS and you will see something like:

09/20/2002 10:30 AM DIR .
09/20/2002 10:30 AM DIR ..

also type "ls -la" on unix/linux and you will see:

drwxr-xr-x 48 root root 12288 Oct 12 18:48 .
drwxrwxrwx 10 root root 4096 Oct 1 09:00 ..
--------------