Guide on how to convert SVCDs to DVD-R

xms3500 said:
Can anyone help me please,with a tuturial on how to convert SVCDs to DVD_R.

Thanks In Advance.
This would have to be the best method without re-encoding. But I would convert your audio to AC3 format rather than uising the SVCD's MP2 audio format for better playback compatability.

Also, if your DVD player cannot play SVCD in the first place it probably wont play these also. You need to convert one to try it out. If not then you need to re-encode them. Lots of different ways of doing that.

ChickenMan said:
This would have to be the best method without re-encoding. But I would convert your audio to AC3 format rather than uising the SVCD's MP2 audio format for better playback compatability.

Also, if your DVD player cannot play SVCD in the first place it probably wont play these also. You need to convert one to try it out. If not then you need to re-encode them. Lots of different ways of doing that.

ChickenMan,
As I am a noob I don't understand what you mean.i don't mind if I have to re-encode the movie.
Also your Guide on how to back up your DVD to DVD-R is Brilliant,thankyou very much.

Thats a problem with your DVD Player. Just re-authoring a SVCD to DVDR is very problematic, all sorts of problems. It works for many but not all. The only way for absolute playability is to re-encode the SVCD's to DVDR specs. If you put the one SVCD onto a DVDR, you will not loose any quality if you follow as below, regardless of what some people may claim.