DVD Compatibility

I'm a bit new to all this DVD stuff, but I'm going to take the plunge this weekend and buy a Pioneer 106.

The more I read about DVD+R, the more I feel it will eventually become the standard (if the two don't merge that is!) as it appears to be more reliable.

As the Pioneer is dual format, would a purchase of +R discs be more compatible with standard DVD-Video players? I realise that media is also an important factor, but I would also like suggestions on software also.

bode :)

I have a Pioneer 104 which is DVD-R or RW and I back up and burn with DVD Decrypter or DVD X Copy Xpress with Ritek Media. I find that even home DVD players (sony, sharp) that don't play other backup play mine. You might want to take a look at the your players and see what other people say they can play. Just remember its just a guide and not a bible but its a good start.:cool: Good luck
A good sight for that is dvdrhelp.
http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvdplayers

I donr believe the +R or the -R are any more reliable than the other on playback. It really depends on how they are trans or encoded and burnt that determines if they play or not, not +R or -R. The +R media is substantially dearer here in Oz and reported the same in the UK and US so why would you want to use +R media ?

All the hype is comming from Sony or Phillips who own the +R rights, of course they want to see +R win out, as then they will make millions from it. 2/3 of the DVD burners in the world are -R, the rest +R or Combo's so why would you recon +R will win out. Availability and price of media is what will determine ultimately who will win, if either.

From what I've read, +R discs are manufactured to a higher standard; with -R, you are more likely to find poor discs. I imagine that +R discs will come down in price eventually.