Alternative to ReMPEG2?

I just completed a backup of "High Crimes". The original was slightly too large to fit on the DVD-R so I used ReMPEG2 set at the highest setting (90), which fit the DVD-R just fine. However, the first 10 minutes or so of the movie had some pretty bad pixelation (flashing boxes of various sizes). Over six hours wasted! Tried it again with the same results (another 6 hours wasted), so thought it might be a problem with the original. I played the original ripped files on the PC and they were fine. Appears that the problem must have been created by ReMPEG2. Now the question, is there a good alternative to ReMPEG2 that I can try to see if it fixes this problem? Thanks.

Kermit

Thanks for the quick reply...this is a great forum!

I am pretty new to this, but I was able to find CCE and also downloaded the latest trial version of TMPG. Gave them a quick try and discovered that CCE doesn't read the .M2V video files and TMPG won't read the .AC3 audio files. I've been following the directions for doing a DVD to DVD-R copy that creates .M2V and .AC3 files, then uses SpruceUp to author. Up to this point, ReMPG2 has worked well for encoding if the video file was too large.

Should CCE and TMPG be able to handle .M2V and .AC3 files?

Sorry for the novice questions, but I really do appreciate the help. Thanks!

E

elpresidente

hey mate ...
Use DVD2AVI .... load the m2v file and save the project ... U will get a *.d2v file ...then load the VfapiConv and convert to an *.avi ... (some seconds of work) .... this resulting file can be opened in tmpg and CCE ...

üsse

Will this not give you a problem ??

I know that rempeg will maintain the same GOP structure as the original, that's why it takes so long to initialize.
So all pointers in the VOB will be correct and audio will be in sync.