Uncomplicated Digital Camera ?

Hello Folks,

I was planning on giving my wife (and me) a Digital Camera for Christmas. I am a novice in this area. I am looking for a reliable and reasonably priced Digital Camera. The main concern is that the Digital Camera has to be easy/simple and uncomplicated to use. The more simpler the better. I was hoping some knowable folks would be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Regards,
Coaster

A friend has the FinePix 4700 - a really neat feature is the "porthole" LCD which labels the ring of multifunction buttons and gives other feedback without resorting to the power-hungry colour LCD display.

I have a Kodak (not by choice - it was the "Kodak moment" error, so it was CHEAP)
Not a bad camera for easy point and shoot, but the DX3700 lacks features such as self timer! (no kidding!!!)

Plus points to look for are:
1. Optical zoom - preferably 2x or 3x - or better
2. Resolution - more pixels = bigger viewable/printable sizes at respectable quality - or more scope for cropping in postprocessing or use of DIGITAL zoom.
3. Autofocus - while a fixed focus can produce acceptable results, auto is better
4. Close-up/macro modes - preferable variable. Some fixed focus cameras have a single "close up" setting that is never the right distance for what you want!
5. Video clip mode (on some, with sound)

DIGITAL zoom does one of two things:
1. Crops the centre of the picture (using less storage)
2. Magnifies the centre (bigger, but no more quality)
Either of those can also be done in postprocessing, probably with software you get with the camera.

More features, though, goes against your "EASY" requirement - you could try out a very cheap "3 in 1" that acts as a webcam, video clip cam, and rather low resolution digital camera, and then keep that as a webcam and then get a better model for real use.

Last edited: