Trying to create a VCD file..pls help !!

joe14580

Hey guys,

Ok. I'm a noob (this IS my first post) :rolleyes: , not a computer noob, but a video-noob fer sure ;) .But I HAVE been reading the tutorials and trying to figure things out myself, and reading threads, but frankly I'm stuck :confused: . I admit to being a video-idiot :( .

I'll try to keep my questions simple and to the point :cool: .

The specs: I have a NEC 3500A burner (dual-layer jobbie), using 700 mb/80 min blank cd-r's, a Toshiba player that plays VCD's and DVD's, and am running Win2K.

Problem # 1: I have a 716 MB avi file I want to burn as a VCD file and watch on my tv with the toshiba dvd/vcd player.

I try to burn the vcd using Roxio creator version 7 to burn it and it reports the file needs 830 mb on the cd-r
(or so) after i've edited the beginning and ending credits out of it.

My noob question is: does starting out at 716 mb avi file
(now presumably smaller as I've edited the credits out of it) , and ending up at 830mb vcd file sound right ?

Are there proggies out there that can "right-size" the burn to the 700 mb disc ?

Are there larger CD's available (e.g. 800 mb) and if so what is manufacturers name ? Does newegg stock them ?

Should I try to "overburn" to the CD-R ?

Or is there a way I can squish the file a bit with a proggie b 4 burning ?

And oh, yes, I did try to burn it as a DVD. Used TMPGEnc to convert it to DVD compliant MPEG file. That resulted in a 1.46G mpg file. Tried to burn it to a single layer dvd-r disk (4.6 gb capacity :eek: ) and it said the file was too big for the dvd disk :confused: ?

So same questions apply as above :( .

Or do I have to split these files into two parts are burn two vcd's and two dvd's.