Avi 2 Mpeg2

chronicking

hello all. i'm a bit new to this and have been reading quite abit but can't seem to find what i'm looking for. i'm re-encoding alot of avi files i have to mpeg2, so i can burn them to dvdr. im using the tmpenc encoder. my question is: how small should i make the mpeg's not to lose any quality? i was guessing about 3 times the size of the original avi's. [which is about 200-300 mbs per 25 minutes-avi's] which would make the mpeg's about 600-700 mb's.

does this sound about right? or can you re-encode the avi's to about the same size? it makes me wonder why you just can't burn the avi's with out the conversion so no quality loss takes place.

this is a bit off key but why avi and not mpeg to begin with? and what is avi format the standard to? i read the definition in the glossary but it still left me a bit clouded. i'd appreciate any responses. thanx! :confused:

chronicking said:
hello all. i'm a bit new to this and have been reading quite abit but can't seem to find what i'm looking for. i'm re-encoding alot of avi files i have to mpeg2, so i can burn them to dvdr. im using the tmpenc encoder. my question is: how small should i make the mpeg's not to lose any quality? i was guessing about 3 times the size of the original avi's. [which is about 200-300 mbs per 25 minutes-avi's] which would make the mpeg's about 600-700 mb's.
I tend to put about 2 1/2hr to 3hr MAX on a dvd, the size of the avi's is almost irrelevant as it only one piece to the puzzle.

... it makes me wonder why you just can't burn the avi's with out the conversion so no quality loss takes place.
You can (and I do) but you need a DVD Player that can play AVI's. There are many of these units around now and are priced right as well.

this is a bit off key but why avi and not mpeg to begin with? and what is avi format the standard to? i read the definition in the glossary but it still left me a bit clouded. i'd appreciate any responses. thanx! :confused: